The San Francisco Style
Good Time Jazz
Lu Watters Yerba Buena Jazz Band
GTJ L-12001

Side 1
1) Minstrels of Annie Street
2) Jazzin� Babies Blues
3) The Easy Winners
4) Ostrich Walk
5) Pineapple Rag
6) I�m Goin� Huntin�

Side 2
1) Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None Of My Jelly Roll
2) New Orleans Joys
3) Original Rags
4) Ory's Creole Trombone
5) Pastime Rag No 5
6) Canal Street Blues

Carl Pletcher passed away in 1981. His love of jazz music brought him to San Francisco many times where he enjoyed a friendship with Lu Watters. These records are from his collection and exhibit signs that they were used and enjoyed a lot, though always treated with respect and care.

The San Francisco Style
Good Time Jazz
Lu Watters Yerba Buena Jazz Band
GTJ L-12002

Side 1 Watters Originals
1) Annie Street Rock
2) Big Bear Stomp
3) Antigua Blues
4) Emperor Norton's Hunch
5) Climax Rag
6) Sage Hen Strut

Side 2 Ragtime
1) Trombone Rag
2) Down Home Rag
3) Harlem Rag
4) Creole Belles
5) Sunburst Rag
6) That's A Plenty

Lu Watters
Yerba Buena Jazz Band
GTJ L-12007

Side 1
1) High Society
2) Milneburg Joys
3) Daddy Do
4) Hot House Rag
5) Muskrat Ramble
6) London Cafe Blues
7) Tiger Rag

Side 2
1) Fidgety Feet
2) Come Back, Sweet Papa
3) Sunset Cafe Stomp
4) Terrible Blues
5) Temptation Rag
6) Riverside Blues
7) Cake Walkin' Babies From Home

Kid Ory's Creole Jazz Band 1955
Kid Ory, trombone
Alvin Alcorn, trumpet
George Probert, Clarinet
Don Ewell, piano
Ed Garland, bass
Minor Hall, drums

GTJ L-12008

Side 1
1) Savoy Blues
2) A Good Man Is Hard To Find
3) A Closer Walk With Thee
4) Shake That Thing

Side 2
1) Copenhagen
2) Royal Garden Blues
3) Mississippi Mud
4) Tin Roof Blues
5) Indiana

Bob Scobey's Frisco Band:
vocals by Clancy Hayes
GTJ L-12009


Side 1
1) When The Midnight Choo-Choo Leaves For Alabam'
2) St James Infirmary
3) Home
4) At The Devil's Ball
5) St Louis Blues
6) Angry

Side 2
1) I Ain't Gonna Give Nobody None Of My Jelly Roll
2) Love Me Or Leave Me
3) I Want To Go Back To Michigan
4) You Can Depend On Me
5) Lights Out Blues

The Bay City Jazz Band
Everett Farey, cornet
Sanford Newbauer, trombone
Al Cavallin, trumpet
Roy Giomi, clarinet
Don Keeler, piano
Tito Patri, banjo
Walt Yost, tuba
Lloyd Byasse, drums

GTJ L-12017

Side 1
1) Arab Strut
2) Alligator Blues
3) My Heart
4) Yerba Buena Blues
5) How'm I Gonna Do It?
6) Potato Head

Side 2
1) Weather Bird Rag
2) Auntie Soshal's Social
3) West Texas Blues
4) Doctor Jazz
5) Beale Street Blues
6) Snake Rag

Bob Scobey's Frisco Band
vocals by Clancy Hayes
Good Time Jazz
GTJ L-12032

Side 1
1) Pretty Baby
2) St Louis Blues
3) Coney Island Washboard
4) Some Of These Days
5) Beale Street Mama
6) Dippermouth Blues

Side 2
1 South
2) Sailing Down Chesapeake Bay
3) Wolverine Blues
4) Chicago
5) Melancholy
6) That's A Plenty

I found an old SESAC TRANSCRIPTION from about 1949 with some more San Francisco Jazz with Bob Scobey and his Frisco Band. A transcription disc is a 16" 33 rpm record made for use at radio stations. Back in the 1940's-1960's, syndicated radio shows and music libraries were distributed to radio stations on these discs and every radio station had the special turntables to play them. Regular LPs are 12". Have fun!

SESAC N-2203
1) My Heart Is In Dixie
2) Hobo Blues
3) Don't Count Your Kisses
4) Southern Comfort
5) Bourbon Street

SESAC N-2204
1) Tailgate Romance
2) Cable Car Swing
3) Clarinet Capers
4) While You Were Away
5) Along The Wabash